Director's Desk

NSRTC is geared to go Global

National Seed Research and Training Centre (NSRTC) is the apex centre to maintain the uniformity in seed testing results and HRD at national level. NSRTC monitors the all State Seed Testing Laboratories and try to overcome their difficulties. It makes efforts to expertise seed entrepreneurs and other stakeholders involved in seed development programme and make them more potent. Through National Trainings, National Workshops and National Seed Congress, NSRTC is continuously disseminating the knowledge of new techniques of seed testing, role of quality seed etc. to the various seed development agencies and other stakeholders.

Central Seed Testing Laboratory (CSTL) has been assigned to analyse the sample of complainants through Court. Seed testing in collaboration of state testing laboratories and testing of market samples are also important programmes of CSTL. Central Seed Testing Laboratory is a member laboratory of International Seed Testing Association (ISTA) and undergoing PT programme of ISTA for accreditation which will ensure Seed Industry in India globally competitive.

We march ahead to fulfill following objectives:

# Promote quality seed availabity to meet the challenges of science based Agriculture.

# Making of promising Techonologies reach the seed entrepreneurs and other stakeholders through innovative Trainings, Conferences & Symposia.

# Establishing uniformity in Seed production & Quality Control programmes at National level.

# Innovative curriculum planning and implementation to make Seed Science & Research more vibrant and responsible to match the vision and needs of present and future.

List of the Directors of NSRTC

Name of Directors From To
  Dr. M. Bhaskaran 13/10/2005 31/05/2011
  Shri Anindo Majumdar, (I.A.S.), Joint Secretary (Seeds) & I/C 01/06/2011 22/07/2011
  Shri S.K.G. Rahate, (I.A.S.), Joint Secretary (Seeds) & I/C 23/07/2011 22/05/2012
  Dr. Atanu Purkayastha, (I.A.S.), Joint Secretary (Seeds) & I/C 23/05/2012 12/07/2012
  Dr. P. Masilamani 13/07/2012 27/05/2013
  Shri R.K. Trivedi, Dy. Commissioner (Q. C.) & I/C 28/05/2013 30/04/2016
  Shri S. Selvaraj, Dy. Commissioner (Seeds) & I/C 01/05/2016 31/12/2016
  Dr. Arvind N. Singh 01/01/2017 01/07/2020
  Dr. M. P. Yadav, Seed Technologist & I/C 02/07/2020 16/11/2022
  Shri Manoj Kumar, IAS, Director, MIDH & I/C 17/11/2022 contd.